the perfect age for motherhood

so yesterday was one of those days. please allow me to rant a little. [isn’t that part of the beauty of blogging?!]

bug’s swimming teacher asked if i was her nanny, which alright, no big deal, i am a lot younger than most of the other moms in swim class.  i laughingly tell her no, i am her mother.  she then continues on for a good two minutes (which is a painfully long time for a topic that is somewhat touchy with me) with things such as “you can’t be more than twenty” and “what, did ya have her when you were fifteen”.  Now, i am fairly accustomed to hearing these things, as i have endured five years of it.  some of my faves have been “i have boots older than you” and “oh, i would have bet money you were sisters”.

so let me just say a few words to people that have the urge to state the fact that i am an “awfully” young mother.  first of all, i am well aware, thank you.

second of all, does it really make a difference to you?  if you really care that much about my personal life, then great news – i have a blog where you can read about it!!

most importantly though, please refrain from comments such as “you are too young to have a five year old”.  this is obviously not true as she is standing right in front of you, and i’m pretty positive i birthed her myself…yea… i think i would remember that.

i struggled a lot with being a young mother when we first moved to Washington DC.  in the midwest, it is not atypical for women in their early twenties to start popping out kids right and left. however, on the east coast [particularly in metro areas like DC] the average age for your first child is 30 – 35 and there are many people that wait until later.  large families are few and far between, most people have 1-2 children only.  as Shane and i are both the oldest of families of five, this is a different world to us.  i remember the first parent meeting at bug’s preschool.  i felt like i was a one man circus, as i caught basically every parent gawking at one moment or the next and i fielded countless questions [most were politely phrased] about my age.  it was also particularly difficult to adjust in my professional career, as it is a high intensity work environment.  i want to succeed just as much as the guy next to me, who happens to be fresh out of college with no family obligations and can work 80 hour weeks without major repercussions.  i on the other hand, have to motivate and push myself to get everything to balance out.

so yes, you may have boots older than me, but that doesn’t make me any less a mother. and yes, it is hard for me sometimes, but i am doing it. and yes,  i am pursuing a career that is challenging and teaches me new things everyday, and hopefully berkley will see my hard work and be inspired to work hard too. and yes, i wouldn’t change it for the world!!!  i adore being an “awfully” young mother [and no, i am not promoting you go out and get knocked up now just to be a young mother, please be rational, but that is the way it worked out for me].

i love that we have so many more years ahead of us and so much more life to look forward to together.

6 thoughts on “the perfect age for motherhood

  1. I love this blog! My son is also five and I have encountered the same questions. If anything, we are blessed mothers, we have more time with our child. I have no regrets.

  2. Dave the Dog thinks you are a wonderful mother! Dave the Dog’s mother was MUCH younger than you when she had him!

  3. Pingback: ~2012~ | kate, shane, and the little bug

  4. Pingback: “working mothers” | kate, shane, and the little bug

  5. Very well said!! I agree 100% I had my son awfully young too as even with all the struggles I wouldn’t change it for the world.

Leave a Reply

